CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORDS: 
The Washington State Patrol is responsible for maintaining the statewide repository for fingerprint-based criminal history record information (CHRI). 

You can obtain criminal histories from the State Patrol in two ways: 
1. Going on-line by using WATCH (Washington Access To Criminal History). This feature requires either a credit card, or an account number, which can be set up by contacting the Identification and Criminal History Section. 

2. Completing forms, available through our Identification and Criminal History Section (use link above). Return the completed forms to us through the US Postal Service. (Sorry, we don't have downloadable forms at this time.) 

If you are new to criminal history requests, please read About Criminal Histories below. Described the two types of requests and their purposes, the information they contain, the laws that allow them to be given out, the cost to you, and the time it takes to receive them. We've included a glossary to help you understand the terms. If you have any questions or wish to request forms, write or call the Identification and Criminal History Section. A service representative will be happy to help you. 



About Criminal Histories
The Washington State Patrol Identification and Criminal History Section is the statewide repository for fingerprint-based criminal history record information (CHRI). Local criminal justice agencies are required by law to submit felony and gross misdemeanor arrest and disposition information to the State Patrol, where it is included in a CHRI data base. 

Who May Request CHRI?
Certified criminal justice agencies may request and receive unrestricted CHRI from the Identification and Criminal History Section for criminal justice purposes. The public may request and receive CHRI for non-criminal justice purposes, but it is limited to conviction information only. 

Conviction CHRI is defined in the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 10.97.030, and it relates to an incident that has led to a conviction or other disposition adverse to the subject. In addition to the conviction CHRI, non-criminal justice requestors (the public) may receive a record showing pending arrest offenses under one year old without disposition, and if the subject is a registered sex offender or kidnapper. 

Two Types of Criminal History Requests
Depending on the purpose, the Identification and Criminal History Section responds to non-criminal justice inquiries under two different statutes: 
· Criminal Records Privacy Act (Chapter 10.97 RCW) 

· Child and Adult Abuse Information Act (RCW 43.43.830-.845) 

On-line information from WATCH is immediate. However, it takes from 3 to 10 weeks for us to respond to written requests. 
Criminal Records Privacy Act
Under the Criminal Records Privacy Act, conviction CHRI may be made public to anyone without restriction and without the consent of the subject of the record. The requestor must submit either a Request for Conviction Criminal History Record (using Form 3000-240-569 or WATCH) or a full set of the subject's fingerprints. 

Fees
A non-refundable $10 fee is required for each record requested by name and date of birth. A non-refundable $25 fee is required for a fingerprint search. Fees must be submitted with the request for information, payable to the Washington State Patrol by a cashier's check, money order, or commercial business account. 

Instructions for Completing Form 3000-240-569
Part A - Write in the applicant's (subject's) full name, date of birth, and alias names--including birth and married names. The subject's sex, race, social security #, and driver's license number are helpful in searching for CHRI. 
Part B - Print your (the requestor's) full name, telephone number, and complete address. Be sure to fill in the date and sign your name. 

Responses
Each written response takes from 3 to 10 weeks to complete. 
If a record exists, a copy of the record will be attached to the returned form. It will include all state of Washington conviction CHRI and pending arrest offenses under one year old without disposition. If the subject is a registered sex offender or kidnapper, it will be disclosed on the record you receive. 

If our search reveals that no CHRI exists, the form will be returned to you and the "WSP Use Only" box will be stamped. 

Secondary dissemination of the CHRI is prohibited, unless in compliance with RCW 10.97.050. 

Child and Adult Abuse Information Act
Under the Child and Adult Abuse Information Act, requests for CHRI are limited to businesses or organizations licensed in the state of Washington; any agency of the state; or other governmental entities that educate, train, treat, supervise, house, or provide recreation to developmentally disabled persons, vulnerable adults, or children under 16 years of age. 

The requestor may submit either a Request for Criminal History Information Child/Adult Abuse Information Act (using Form 3000-240-430 or WATCH) or a full set of the subject's fingerprints. 

Fees
If you are a for-profit organization, a non-refundable $10 fee is required for each record requested by name and date of birth. A non-refundable $25 fee is required for a fingerprint search. Fees must be submitted with the request for information, payable to the Washington State Patrol by a cashier's check, money order, or commercial business account. The fee is $10 for each record requested by name and date of birth. There is no fee for organizations legally classified as non-profit. 

Instructions for Completing the Form 3000-240-430
Part A - Print or type in the complete name and address of the business, organization, or agency. An authorized signature is required. 
Part B - Check the block that applies. 
Part C - Print or type in the applicant's (subject of the background check) name, date of birth, and alias names--including birth and married names. The applicant's sex, race, social security number, and driver's license number are helpful for search purposes. 
Part D - You must include the name of the requesting agency and the applicant's (subject's) name and full mailing address. The applicant's signature and right thumbprint are optional. 

Responses
Each written response takes from 3 to 10 weeks to complete. 

If a record exists, a copy of the record will be attached to the returned form. It will include state of Washington convictions and pending arrest offenses under one year old of crimes against children or other persons, crimes of financial exploitation, civil adjudications, and sex offender and kidnapper registration information. The requestor is required to provide a copy of the CHRI response to the applicant (subject). 

If our search reveals that no CHRI exists, the form will be returned to you and the "WSP Use Only" box will be stamped. You must give Part D of the form to the applicant (subject) as evidence that there is no CHRI in the Identification and Criminal History Section's files. 

Secondary dissemination of the CHRI is prohibited, unless in compliance with RCW 10.97.050. 

Want to order forms, set up a WATCH account, or get more information?
You can set up a WATCH account, request forms and fingerprint cards, or ask questions by calling a customer representative at (360) 705-5100. Also, you can write us at either of the following addresses: 

crimhis@wsp.wa.gov 
Identification and Criminal History Section
Washington State Patrol
PO Box 42633
Olympia WA 98504-2633

Glossary of Terms:

See RCW 43.43.830 and RCW 10.97.030 for additional definitions.

Adverse to the defendant -- Referring to conviction information; any disposition of charges, except a decision not to prosecute, a dismissal, or acquittal, except when the acquittal is due to a finding of not guilty by reason of insanity.

Applicant -- The subject of the background check, request, or record. (See also subject of the record.)

CHRI -- Criminal history record information. Information contained in records collected by criminal justice agencies, other than courts, on individuals, consisting of identifiable descriptions and notations of arrests, detentions, indictments, informations, or other formal criminal charges, and any disposition arising therefrom, including sentences, correctional supervision, and release.

Conviction -- Disposition adverse to the subject.

Disposition -- Final arrangement or settlement of the case.

RCW -- Revised Code of Washington. A catalog or directory referencing all current Washington State laws. The laws are listed by numbers and letters that are punctuated by periods. The first set of numbers indicates the title; the second set indicates the chapter.

Requestor -- The person, agency, organization, or business making the inquiry.

Subject of the record -- The person about whom the inquiry is being made. (See also applicant.) 
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